Executive Committee

The VMS Executive Committee is comprised of the elected officers of the organization: the president, the president-elect, the vice president, the secretary/treasurer, and the immediate past president. The Executive Committee meets regularly and reports to the VMS Council.


Simha Ravven, M.D., President

Contact the VMS president at President@vtmd.org

Dr. Ravven is the Chief Medical Officer of the Howard Center and Assistant Clinical Professor in Law and Psychiatry at the Yale University School of Medicine.

Dr. Ravven was a studio art major as an undergraduate at Hamilton College and decided to pursue medicine after serving in the United States Peace Corps in Morocco. She graduated from the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine and completed her residency in Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School. She went on to train in Forensic Psychiatry at Yale University School of Medicine. Dr. Ravven is Board Certified in General Adult and Forensic Psychiatry. She has a private practice in forensic psychiatry and lectures on clinical violence risk assessment and other forensic mental health topics. Her passion is caring for adults with serious mental illness and contributing to research and policy on the intersection of law and mental health.


Ryan Sexton, M.D., President-Elect

Ryan J. Sexton, M.D. is an emergency medicine physician and serves as Medical Director of Emergency Services and President of Medical Staff at Northeastern Vermont Regional Hospital (NVRH) in St. Johnsbury, VT.

Dr. Sexton graduated from the University of Vermont College of Medicine and completed residency in Emergency Medicine at UMDNJ Cooper University Hospital in Camden, NJ. He completed a fellowship in Disaster Medicine and EMS at Cooper Medical School of Rowan University in Camden, NJ. After completion of fellowship training, Dr. Sexton practiced clinically at Cooper Hospital as an Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine before returning to Vermont to work at NVRH. Dr. Sexton is double board certified by the American Board of Emergency Medicine in the specialties of Emergency Medicine and Emergency Medical Services. Dr. Sexton serves as Medical Advisor to VT District 5 EMS, as the President of the Vermont Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians, and also sits on the Vermont Board of Medical Practice. He also serves as Medical Advisor to the Vermont Healthcare Emergency Preparedness Coalition (VHEPC) and just started as Chair of the VT Emergency Department Medical Director Committee.


Rebecca Bell, M.D., Vice-President

Dr. Bell is a Pediatric Critical Care physician at the University of Vermont Children’s Hospital and an Associate Professor of pediatrics at the Larner College of Medicine at UVM.

Dr. Bell received her medical degree from the University of Massachusetts Medical School and a master’s degree in public health from the Harvard School of Public Health. She completed her pediatric residency training as well as her pediatric critical care fellowship at the Massachusetts General Hospital.

Outside of clinical care, Dr. Bell works on injury prevention efforts for the Vermont Child Health Improvement Program (VCHIP). She serves in leadership roles within the American Academy of Pediatrics at the state and national level and is active in community and legislative advocacy efforts.


Howard Schapiro, M.D., Secretary/Treasurer

Dr. Schapiro is an anesthesiologist at the University of Vermont Medical Center and the chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Vermont College of Medicine (UVMCM). He received his bachelor of arts in biology and masters of science in natural sciences/epidemiology from the State University of New York at Buffalo and his medical degree at UVMMC.

An attending anesthesiologist at FAHC since 1986, Dr. Schapiro is currently a member of the hospital's strategic management, faculty practice finance, medical staff executive, and operating room steering committees.


Catherine Schneider, M.D., Immediate Past President

Dr. Schneider is the section chief of surgical services at Mt. Ascutney Hospital and Health Center in Windsor, Vt., and currently chairs the Vermont Statewide Surgical Services Collaborative. She is the former chief medical officer of Mt. Ascutney Hospital, a position she held from 2011- 2014.

Dr. Schneider earned a bachelor’s degree in biology/premed from the University of Scranton, Pa., and medical degree from New Jersey Medical School. She did her surgical residency at UMDNJ in New Jersey and fellowship in minimally invasive surgery at the Institute for Minimally Invasive Surgery in White Plains, N.Y. She earned a master’s degree in management, health care administration from New England College in 2006.


VMS is governed by a Board, which meets to discuss the policy, governance, operations, and finances of the organization. Board membership includes VMS officers, geographic, specialty society and at-large representatives.

For a list of Board members, click here.

Board meetings (click here for the upcoming schedule) are open to all VMS members.

The VMS Executive Committee (click here for the upcoming schedule) is comprised of the officers elected at the Annual Membership Meeting: the president, the president-elect, the vice president, the secretary/treasurer, and the immediate past president. The Executive Committee meets regularly and reports to the VMS Board.

Each member has an equal voice at the Annual VMS Membership Meeting, at which the members elect the officers of the organization.

VMS is also represented at meetings of the House of Delegates of the American Medical Association by one Delegate and one Alternate-Delegate.


VMS Bylaws - as amended on Nov. 6, 2021